Games!

So, as it stands, I am planning to start running Rise of the Runelords in the near future, with intent to play through the various APs for as long as I can hold a group together. I am also going to be playing in a Wrath of the Righteous campaign at long last. Today I’ll talk a bit about both.

Rise of the Runelords, for those unfamiliar with it, was the flagship which Paizo set forth on when Wizards of the Coast reclaimed the magazines it had them handling. The very first Pathfinder Adventure Path, and they went a little wild with distinguishing their product from what they’d been allowed under the auspices of the D&D license. They were justifiably accused of going a little too far into the Darker and Edgier direction, what with some of the horrific segments the early writers put in. Most of the time since then things have been a lot better, but some of those early aspects linger.

As such, knowing that some of my future players are liable to be sensitive to these aspects, I’ll likely be taking steps to reduce the nightmare fuel. The entire ogre-related section is the worst component, and will need to most care in playing through to keep from crossing lines that are likely best left uncrossed. Still, I’m looking forward to it – I have my Anniversary Edition copy of it, tidied up, fleshed out, and updated to the Pathfinder system, and it should be plenty of fun for everyone. Particularly since one person wants to run a relatively pacifist cross-cultural art collector of a character, and another wants to play a kobold.

Rise of the Runelords is special, because it’s the only AP I’ve ever had much of a chance to try playing – we made it most of the way through book one before that attempt went by the wayside due to the relative flakiness of the GM. I’m looking forward to playing up the less grotesque horrors of it and giving everyone a chance to be a hero.

Wrath of the Righteous, on the other hand, is an AP that I’ve been waiting to play with my wife since it first came out. We’ve had our rough character concepts since the first module was released, and we’ve tinkered with them and refined them over time in hopes of getting this chance. Each of us wants to play a tiefling; hers, an inquisitor of Sarenrae, one of the Faultspawn, dedicated to the ideal of redemption and salvation, and mine another Faultspawn – originally a ranger dedicated to Desna, then a paladin of Erastil for a time, and now back to Desna, but as a warpriest.

Why was my future character almost a paladin? Because my wife suggested that I’m one of the few people she’d trust to run a paladin and not make a total hash of it. It’s a vote of confidence I deeply appreciate, and in any other campaign I’d be 100% with this idea. Wrath of the Righteous is likely to be my only chance to ever play a Mythic character, however, and I’d rather play something that allows me the freedom of personality to really enjoy it. Warpriests are amazing as a class, and I can make a fantastic build – and my wife sabotaged the notion of playing an archer by pointing out that as a warpriest of Desna I can have some nightmarishly effective starknives.

So that’s the character to be – a Faultspawn born of Varisian parentage, here on the edge of the Worldwound. Raised by her Desna-worshiping parents as best they could manage, until the day the goddess blessed her with divine powers and a dream that she’d be needed soon in the Worldwound itself.

I’m looking forward to both games.

Games!

Leave a Reply

